This is my S.O.S.

Most little girls dream of being a “princess” when they grow up. Not me. I wanted to be a “queen.” Why?? Well princesses seemed to just sit around and wait for someone to rescue them. Queens, on the other hand, ruled the land which meant they had the power to help those who were hurting…. Plus I’d get to “boss everyone around.” Since I was one of the youngest kids in my family, that sounded appealing to me since everyone else “bossed” me around ;).

Image

Now before I lose all of my “male” readers, I promise this article isn’t all about princesses, queens, and fairytales ;).

I think most of my reason for wanting to be a “queen” over a “princess” was because my hero, or rather heroine, was Queen Esther in the bible. She was beautiful, brave, and selfless- that was what I wanted to be when I grew up. Now that I am all grown up I still admire Esther and want to learn how to become more like her.

In addition to Queen Esther having beauty, bravery, and kindness she had many other characteristics of integrity. As I’ve been studying her story over the last several months I have learned that she was also humble and wise. She listened to the advice of her elders, and she knew when to ask for help.

Esther was used to save the lives of her people, the Jews. But in order for her to do this she had to risk her own life. For, to approach the king uninvited was considered disrespectful and punished by death… unless the king had mercy on you and lifted his scepter to save you (which he did do in Esther’s case). But before Esther approached the king she didn’t know how the situation would turn out. She hadn’t even seen her husband in months and therefore wasn’t sure how he would respond. She actually tried to back out of the situation until her cousin Mordecai called her accountable. Once she realized that it would be wrong before the Lord to not stand up for the Jews, she stepped up to the plate, even if it meant sacrificing her own life for them.

But before Esther approached the king she asked Mordecai to spread the word and to get all of the Jews to fast and pray for her for 3 days. She knew she wanted to back out, she knew her own fear, and she knew she needed help. Even if the king had mercy on her life, who was to say that he would listen to her and help her save the Jews? She knew it had to be God’s strength and favor that would save her and the Jews. And she knew she needed help so she asked for help from all of her people. Asking for help showed she had a lot of humility. It also showed that she had wisdom with how to approach the situation.

The reason I am bringing Esther up is because I am trying to learn from her humility and wisdom.  I am learning it is “okay” to ask for help. It is “okay” to admit you are not always strong and you need help. And it is “okay” to ask others to unite in prayer for you on the same day… so that is what this article is about. This is my plea for help, my call to action, this is my S.O.S.

Many of you know that I have been suffering physically for 1 ½ years. I was in a car accident that caused a severe brain injury and a lot of pain. After 8 months of recovering in bed I took a dive for the worst and my pain became horrible. I started to slowly lose control of my limbs and this has put me in a wheelchair.

I’ve had strange neurological symptoms since-

  • Numbness/Tingling
  • Stabbing Needles
  • Burning
  • Sensation of air bubbles under my skin

My vision makes EVERYTHING look like it’s moving ALL of the time. Sometimes my vision goes really blurry on top of the movement.

A year after my accident my body just started deteriorating and I couldn’t get out of bed without help. The doctors told me that I was no longer just facing a TBI (traumatic brain injury) but that there was something else going on in my body that was causing many of my symptoms. They have been testing me for many diseases ever since.

Test after test came back negative until they finally tested me for P.O.T.S. (Postural Orthastatic Tachycardia Syndrome) and it came back positive. Basically it means something is wrong with my blood and my heart can’t pump it properly. In severe cases, like mine, it causes your body to feel horribly sick all of the time. It causes:

  • Nausea
  • Light headedness
  • Dizziness
  • Impaired vision
  • Foggy Brain
  • Makes you feel really “heavy” and makes it extremely hard to sit or stand without passing out.

They have been treating me for it since then and I have made slooow progress. Progress means that some days I can sit up, from laying down, by myself and can hold my body in a sitting position for a short time before my body gives out and forces me back into a lying position.

Though I’ve been diagnosed with a TBI, severe brain-stem injury, and P.O.T.S., the doctors still do not know what is causing my nerve pain, numbness, burning etc.  The big “bad guy” that is causing my body so much misery is hiding away and the doctors, and myself are stumped. I need help.

So I’m asking all of my readers, my friends, and my family to come together on the same days and pray for me. My prayer requests are these:

  1. Healing: That I would be supernaturally healed.
  2. Wisdom & Direction: If God isn’t going to heal me through a miracle and He wants to reveal what’s going on in my body through doctors, then that God would give them, and myself wisdom and direction with what steps, and tests to take next.
  3. An End to Spiritual Attack: If my sickness is spiritual, and Satan is causing this like he caused Job’s suffering-then that God would put an end to it.
  4. Refreshment: That God would give me a refreshment of strength and grace to get through this.
  5. Glory to God: Pray that God would use this trial to help others and to glorify Himself. I want people to see that God is good and loving and that He is faithful to stay with you and help you through your trials. Pray that God would use me and my journey to help others see this :).

I have written in my past articles about Job and his journey. I said if what I am going through is something going on in the spiritual realm, then I am honored that God would allow me to prove God right. I still feel this way. If the rest of my life is in a wheelchair and all of my days are in bed sick, then I will gladly, and wholeheartedly do it for the Lord. If it’s His will to use my life this way then I will gladly oblige to His plan. But if it is not, then I believe that He is going to heal me.

So many of you have asked how you can help me. And so I am asking all of you to pray for me over the next 3 days...Sunday May 18, Monday May 19, and Tuesday May 20th.

I am so tired, and don’t know what I’m supposed to do next medically. Please pray for me friends. Pray whatever the spirit leads you to pray. And if you feel God show you anything, or put anything on your heart, then please share it with me.

You can message me on facebook-

-facebook.com/rachelchamplin

Or you can email me at rachelsradicalroad@gmail.com

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to This is my S.O.S.

  1. Deb Burket says:

    Hi Rachel …Elizabeth Taylor shared your story and is asking us to pray with you. I understand a lot of what you are going through, as I’m battling Cushing’s Disease (tumor in my pituitary cavity). This has caused years of various symptoms and in the past year since my neurosurgery I’ve had excruciating pain with osteoarthritis and neuropathy (non-diabetic) along with various other symptoms. However, it sounds like you are going through much more serious issues than I, and I would like to also pray with you.

    A lot of your numbness, tingling, burning & stabbing pain sounds a lot like neuropathy. I’m assuming they’ve checked you for this, as well? Did they do an EMG? Just curious.

    I will commit to pray each day for you, as the Lord shows me. Even now I ask, Lord Jesus, that You would reveal to Rachel and/or her doctors what is really going on. I pray for a miracle, Lord, in what ever way You are willing to show it, as I know it will glorify You. We stand in Your Word where 2 or more are gathered in Your Name ….so not 2 but many are coming together to stand in Your Word to intercede for Rachel and her body. Lord, I pray that You will allow her to recover fully and quickly ..so much so that it will be nothing short of a miracle to all who are witness and that through her testimony many will come to know You and You will once again be glorified because of this. I pray, Lord, that what ever plans or schemes of the enemy for Rachel would be severed in the Name of Jesus and that Your warring and protecting angels would surround her from all sides doing battle in the spiritual realm where only You truly know what’s gong on. I pray, in the Name of Jesus that Your angels would continue to protect Rachel throughout the course of her life. I ask and pray all of this in Your holy and precious Name, Jesus. AMEN!

    I look forward to hearing your testimony after the three days , and I pray (like Esther) that you, too, will see many lives changed because of your leap of faith. In Jesus Name (again I say) AMEN!

    Be blessed!

    ~ Deb Burket ~
    Manitou Springs, CO

    • rchamplin says:

      Dear Deb,

      My mom read me your note and is typing for me since I am too weak right now. I cant even begin to thank you for the comment that you left. Hearing your prayer and note brought tears to my eyes. I had my mom read it to me twice because it ministered to my soul. Thank you for your gift of encouragement and intercession. I dont know you but I already feel Christ’s bond with you. After we read your note (twice!) we thanked God for your encouragement and prayed for you together. I can tell that you’ve allowed God to use your trials to deepen you by the prayer that you prayed. I see why Liz is friends with you, you have a beautiful soul. Thank you again. With Love, Rachel (Yes I recently had and EMG and much to my surprise it came back normal. I am taking medicine for neuropathy , not diabetic, and it helps some.)

  2. Jayme M says:

    I will definitely be praying for you Rachel. You certainly would not remember me but quite a few years back Bob & Tammy Horvath took my family along with you and a few of your siblings out to dinner. I think I was only 10 or 11 at the time but it was shortly after your family arrived back in the states. I am actually currently reading the book your mom wrote and have been truly blessed by it. I will be praying that God will give you a supernatural healing if He so desires it, but if not that He would fill you with his peace, strength and grace to go on serving him through this trial.

    I too am going through my own trial… This past September I discovered that I am a Type 1 diabetic. It was really hard to face it at first since I had to come to a realization that I am going to be stuck with this disease for the rest of my life. But God has been faithful and never once left my side as I walk down this new path. He truly is my ultimate help and support through it all.

    May God bless you!

    • rchamplin says:

      Thank you for reaching out to me and taking the time to leave a comment. Your words were very sweet and were food to my soul. What neat timing that you are reading my moms book when you found out about me! 🙂 I’m sorry to hear about the diabetes that you are facing. I will also pray for you to have grace and strength. I am learning that every attribute whether a sickness we face or something else in our life, God uses for a bigger purpose than we could have planned for our life. God be with you. Rachel

  3. Hey Rachel Standing in agreement in prayer. I firmly believe that God wants you to be healed totally, He who has called you is faithful to complete the work He has started in you. God is never incomplete in His work or in His promises. I don’t think there is a place for “If” if God is not going to heal me. No No no God is going to heal you, God’s desires for you to be healed and live as a living epistles, not a sick person in a wheel chair for the world to say well I don’t think this is God’s will that’s why he has not healed me, I think he wants me to stay this way and learn something, I agree God is teaching you a lot of things but God wants the best for his children so I speak live in to your body, in Jesus name raise up and walk. Be healed in Jesus name.

    • Deb Burket says:

      In Jesus’ Name … I agree in prayer that God will heal you, Rachel!

    • Gayle says:

      I am praying in agreement for your complete healing. This touched my heart and I am seeing a physical attack on many of those who are a light and who are ministering and bringing others to Christ. I have been seeing this all around me. There is an attack and I am praying for God to send your angels to fight for you and win this battle. He knows the desires of your heart. Praying for your complete healing

    • rchamplin says:

      Hi Barney! Thank you for all of your support through this trial I have been facing. It really means alot that you and your wife have been keeping up and praying for my situation. God has been so good and so faithful to me through this journey. I continue to learn lessons every day that are changing my outlook on life. I love you and I hope you’re doing well. Rachel

  4. lighht4mypath says:

    God woke me up at 4:30am…I couldn’t sleep. Checked on F.B. and my friend, Tammy Horvath had posted your blog. You touched my heart with your story and desire to trust and honor God through this incredibly difficult challenge. I believe God woke me up to pray for you! I will pray for you and that God’s will and miraculous power is revealed to you and in you over the next few days. You are my sister in Christ and a “QUEEN” like Esther! May God richly bless you today and always!

  5. Pingback: This is my S.O.S. | this woman shares

  6. journaled says:

    Rachel, my cousin Karen (what a treat to be with her this weekend in South Carolina!) sent me your blog. I will be praying for you these days! Thank you for being brave enough to ask for help. I was diagnosed with POTS and neurocardiogenic syncope a year ago and can empathize in so many ways. I know I almost always feel sick throughout the day, with dysautonomia, and sometimes think that Jesus probably felt rough every day on earth, as a human, after taking on flesh rather than living with the Father during His time here. I am glad you have set your hope on things above; please pray that I would too. Here’s my favorite verse for POTSies, as it addresses our constant about-to-pass-out feeling– Isaiah 61:3-4 (ask your mom to read you the whole chapter): “to grant to those who mourn in Zion— to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the garment of praise instead of a FAINT SPIRIT; that they may be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified.” One day you and I will be called OAKS (so strong, sturdy) of righteousness, for God’s glory! Kristi

    • rchamplin says:

      Dear Kristi, Thank you for taking the time to reach out to me. That really ministers to my heart. Its nice to hear from someone who’s also battling POTS and understands that battle. I will be praying for you, Karen has told me about you many times. The verse you shared was beautiful, I will be pondering it throughout the day. Thank you again. Rachel

  7. Kirk says:

    Rachel, I was out of town racing this weekend and just am now seeing this. I am definitely on board with the prayers, and am sending this to others. You are very much a modern-day Esther: beautiful, brave, selfless, humble and wise. And this is one male friend and reader you will never lose, no matter what you write! I don’t know what God has in store for you regarding this challenge, but your willingness to submit to His plan, even in the midst of such confusion and pain, is admirable and something we could all learn from. How did you get to be such a good “life teacher” to the rest of us in such short time? We love you more than we can say…

    • rchamplin says:

      Dear Kirk, Thank you for your encouraging comment! God always uses them to really bless me!!! What you said ministered to me specifically. I love you and Julie very much and I feel blessed to have you in my life. Thank you for your overwhelming support, I will never forget it. Love, Rachel

  8. Ginny Forestieri says:

    Dear Rachel, I received your blog in a forward from a friend asking for prayer for you. You sound like a beautiful sister-in-the-Lord inside and out! It will be a privilege to pray. I fell and broke my wrist and fractured my foot in September 2013. Long story short, my hand was later traumatized after surgery and I am still under medical care and dealing with pain and lack of mobility. The Lord told me and my husband that my healing would be a “process.” Boy, has it ever. Sometimes when the Lord tells you something you don’t realize at the same how precise it is. I am trying to glean from this trial everything that I possibly can for the kingdom’s sake. One thing that has kept me going is when I hear of prophetic words that talk about an upcoming major revival and healings. I would say that to you, as well, to perhaps look towards that day. If the Lord chooses to delay your healing it just may come when you least expect it during an upcoming awesome move of the Holy Spirit. Be encouraged! Only listen to those reports that are “pure, lovely and of good repute.” Philippians 4:4-9 is good to meditate on. Maybe you already have a scripture verse(s) that you are believing the Lord for. I read Wendy Alec’s book “Visions from Heaven” and found it a blessing. In Christ, Ginny

    • rchamplin says:

      Dear Ginny, I am sorry to hear about the physical trial that you are going through. It sounds like you are allowing the Lord to teach you alot through it. Thank you for using your own trial to have compassion for me. It blesses me to have prayers from someone I have never met. Thank you for your comment. God Bless, Rachel

  9. LuAnn Parrish says:

    Dearest Rachel,
    I just saw your blog today and I will definitely be in agreement with all who read this and are praying for you. As I was sitting here praying for you I was reminded of when I first met you here in Indiana after your grandmothers home going service. We were all at Paragon restaurant and The Lord laid on my spirit a word for you and your sister Beth that He had a ministry of dance and song for the two of you ~ as it is brought to my remembrance I am drawn to Philippians 1:6 “being confidant in this very thing, He that began a good work will be faithful to complete it ”
    I trust that God will give these doctors wisdom and direction towards your healing. I feel that possibly there is something new here that needs to be discovered to help many others. I believe that the five points of prayer that you are asking for are right on target. I suspect there is a combination of things happening ~ you young lady have been a rock in your faith throughout this trial and Satan wants to kill you. Satan – in the name of JESUS I command you now to let go of this precious young woman, you already know that you cannot have her spirit, but I put you on notice this day that you cannot have her health either. Enough is enough! It is written…that you must give back to her seven fold what you have stolen from her. She is a child of the Most high God and she WILL walk in abundant health again soon! I break the chains of bondage you have upon her health and sever them with the precious atoning blood of the Lamb! It is time for you to FLEE!!!
    Rachel – you have walked through this last year and a half with much spiritual strength and grace, I ask The Lord now to give you supernatural physical refreshing and strength! Father in Heaven, please touch this incredible young woman with your amazing miraculous healing touch, she has been through sooo much and has sooo much to give to Your Kingdom. I speak life into her bones, I speak life into her bloodstream, I speak life into her brain stem and every oracle of her body Lord! I call down from heaven unspeakable peace and joy throughout her body physically and spiritually, Holy Spirit permeate every breath she takes, guide her steps and call her to rise up and walk in You! In the name of Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray! AMEN!!!

    • rchamplin says:

      Dear LuAnn, Thank you for your sweet message and kind words. I know that you’ve been interceding for me since this first happened and I really appreciate that. Your message was encouraging. Love Rachel

  10. Abhay Sabu says:

    Hello Rachel,
    Bethany shared your blog on FB. I’ve gone through your blog and it really touched my heart with your story and can feel how you are in difficult challenge/time. Me and my family will pray for your good health and speedy recovery.

    You are ‘Lucky’ that you’re youngest kid in your family. Why I’m saying lucky, I’m middle (3rd) kid among 4 brothers. When I fight for some, my elder brother wins and when I (or elder bro) fight with youngest, my parent takes his side and he wins :). Here, is also the same, since your MOM blessings with you, you will get strength to fight this challenge and wins. I’m sure you will.

    Get well soon! as there are many faces outside want to see your real (not reel) smile. 😀

    Regards,
    Abhay

    • rchamplin says:

      Dear Abhay, Thank you for your sweet message! 🙂 It really touches me that someone who doesnt even know me would care so deeply and reach out to me!Sincerely, Rachel

  11. Leah Cabrera says:

    Dearest Rachel,

    I haven’t seen you in forever. We worked together in Hasker’s lab and were instant friends. Honestly, you (and Jacob) helped to make that an incredible experience for me. While we didn’t know each other for long; we connected in a lot of areas of thought. We started calling each other, “soul sister,” if you’ll remember. What I remember most is your intense light. Your smile and your contagious laughter, that you never failed to bring happiness into the room. And I remember your goals: working with kids, making a difference, helping others.

    While I knew you had been in an accident, I no idea the extent of your situation. When I came across this blog (strangely enough, completely by chance) I was so sad that those things haven’t happened for you. Honestly, I was angry!! Who could possibly deserve this less? This amazing, beautiful soul limited so much. I hesitate to say “it just isn’t fair” but well, it isn’t!! Then I started reading your blog. I have cried so much for you, but also smiled and even laughed a little too. Rachel, you amaze me. In spite of your trials, you have remained a beautiful carrier of light and love not only in your own life but you have brought that loving light to others through this blog. My heart sings because I have realized that your light has not been quashed but intensified. That you have indeed accomplished your goals. Your grace under fire is truly awe inspiring to behold. Your beautiful spirit shines, just like your smile. When I close my eyes, that is how I picture you: shining.

    I, too, commit my prayers to you. May your answers be revealed, your pains relieved and your light remain fierce. I pray for a healing miracle for your body, mind and spirit. I pray that your strength be renewed, your endurance be refreshed and your spirit be continually filled with the love and light that you so readily share with others. Lastly, I pray that you remember the miracle that is you, that you are more than the sum of your pains, more than the aches in your body, more than the blur in your vision, more than your fatigue. As I can only guess, sometimes it must be easy to forget; remember that you are a beautiful light in this world. You are inspiration. You are hope. You are love.

Leave a Reply

