This is not a speed bump!

The bible says that God has destined us for trials. We think of destiny as this sweet romantic thing. We think destiny means living your dreams. Yet God says not to be unsettled by trials because we are destined for them. (…so that no one would be unsettled by these trials. For you know quite well that we are destined for them.    1 Thessalonians 3:3)

That means when God was creating me He knew I was going to become disabled, He knew I’d lose everything, but He destined me for it. I actually feel honored that He did because that means He knew I could handle it. With His help, I can handle this!

I’m not worried about when I’m going to be healed and get on with my life. This IS my life. This IS part of my journey. It’s not a bump in the road that I have to get passed to continue on with my journey, this is the road I’m on. This is my life, my ministry, my calling, my work, my purpose. I want to look back and know that I used every day to the most. That I didn’t waste these days, but I was seeking God in every day.

Some people think I might lose my faith in God or get angry at Him, but I’m not going to. Job lost a whole lot more than me and he STILL stayed faithful to the Lord.  I’ve lost my job, my college education, my apartment, my ability to be independent, my girls nights out, my bible study nights, my ability to drive, my vision, my health, and I am stuck in  a wheelchair.

Yet I will stay faithful to the Lord. Satan can test me, God can test me, or life itself can test me, but I will not be removed from my faith. Jesus means EVERYTHING to me. He’s my joy, my purpose, my Savior, my Lord, and my best friend, I won’t ever leave Him.

I was baptized 13 years ago and I made a vow then that I would follow Christ no matter what. So for better or for worse, I will always follow Him. Even if I hadn’t made that vow then, I would still choose to make it today. He’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

Why wouldn’t I forsake Him?? Because even though these bad things have happened to me, it doesn’t change the fact that He is God. He is truth, the author of life and the reason we are all here. He is the maker of all good, and He’s been there for me every day of my life, whether I wanted Him to be or not. So I will not leave His side. For better or for worse, in sickness and in health, and even in death we will not be separated, but I will meet Him face to face.

Psalm 31:7  I will be glad and rejoice in your love, for you saw my affliction and knew the anguish of my soul.

                      (Rachel living her life, going to visit her new niece at the hospital)

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This is not a speed bump!

  1. Amy says:

    Rachel, you are so amazing. I know you feel that it is just God’s due, and it is, but still I am so impressed with you, how you continue to honor & praise Him and faithfully rely on Him. You inspire me as I go through my trials. Shouldn’t surprise me, being the daughter of your mom, another inspiration through trials & life. 🙂 ~Amy Whalen

  2. Susan Zimmerman says:

    What an ENCOURAGER you are!!! May God grant you the desires of your heart in a most magnificent way. He is bound by His love and His promises to deliver you from this body….but because you have felt His love, it is obvious you will serve Him no matter how great the difficulties. This is a most awesome testimony, rich with pearls of wisdom for any and every one. Thank you for your uplifting words. …A friend from afar, Susan Zimmerman, Granger, IN

  3. Rachel, you are amazing. So few people could even hope to have this attitude, and yet you actually embrace it! Many of us would like to think we could handle this as you have, but I doubt many of us actually could. I spent part of today planning my next India trip, which will be in February. I always think of your family when I think of India. God is smiling at you, and it heartens me that while this is by no means easy for you, you are making the very best of your situation. We love you!
    Kirk

Leave a Reply

